The best engagement ring insurance is the policy whose written terms fit your ring and your household, and on the terms these companies publish, that comes down to four routes: a standalone policy from Jewelers Mutual, one from BriteCo, one from Chubb, or a scheduled add-on to a renters or homeowners policy such as Lemonade’s. They differ on four things that matter at claim time: the yearly rate, the deductible, how a lost ring is valued, and what paper you must hold. Every figure below comes from the company’s own page, read on 30 October 2026, with the page’s date where it shows one.
How we are paid. RingReel earns nothing from any insurer on this page. The links go to the companies’ own pages and are plain links, with no tracking and no commission to us. We also did not buy or test any policy: we compared what each company has published, and where a page is silent the page says so. This is not insurance advice. Your quote, your documents and your policy wording decide what you get.
What is on this page10 sections
Key Takeaways
- Jewelers Mutual publishes 1% to 2% of the ring’s retail replacement value per year, and offers a zero deductible option. BriteCo’s blog post publishes 0.5% to 1.5%, and its home page advertises cover with no deductible.
- Chubb’s US jewelry page says its policy carries no deductible and that adding one is not available, and that it asks for an appraisal only on individual pieces valued at 100,000 dollars or more. It publishes no price.
- A standard Lemonade renters policy pays up to 1,500 dollars for stolen jewelry, so a ring worth more than that needs scheduling. Lemonade’s average to schedule jewelry is 9.46 dollars per month.
- The cheapest published percentage and the lowest published deductible are not always the same policy. Decide which one you care about before you ask for quotes.
- None of the pages we read says whether a lab-grown stone is treated differently from a natural one. Ask each company in writing.
Best Engagement Ring Insurance Compared
The table lists only what each company says on its own page. A cell marked not stated means the page we read says nothing, not that the answer is no. For the plain-English mechanics of rider versus standalone cover, see our engagement ring insurance guide, which this page deliberately does not repeat.
| Jewelers Mutual | BriteCo | Chubb | Lemonade (renters add-on) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 1% to 2% of retail replacement value per year | 0.5% to 1.5% of the ring’s value per year | No price published | 9.46 dollars per month average to schedule jewelry |
| Deductible | Zero deductible option offered; higher deductible lowers the premium | None, per the home page | None, and adding one is not available | Extra Coverage is deductible free |
| What gets paid | Not stated on the page we read | Up to 125% of replacement value | 100% of agreed value; up to 150% of insured value if market value rises | Full replacement value of the scheduled piece |
| Perils named | Loss, theft, damage, disappearance | Accidental damage, mysterious disappearance, theft | Loss including mysterious disappearance, theft, accidental damage including chipped or lost stones | Theft; Extra Coverage adds accidental damage and mysterious disappearance |
| Appraisal | Not stated | Your jeweler or BriteCo’s online appraisal | Required only at 100,000 dollars or more | Receipt if under 5 years old; otherwise a recent in-person appraisal |
| How you buy | Online rate check | Online quote | Online quote form or an independent agent | Add-on to a Lemonade renters or homeowners policy |
| Page date | 8 June 2022 (modified 8 October 2025 in the page data) | Blog post 3 April 2026; site read 30 October 2026 | Undated, read 30 October 2026 | Last updated 13 July 2026 |
Percentages are the company’s own. Dollar prices for a given ring are not published by any of the four, so any figure for your ring comes only from a quote.
How We Compared Them
We looked for the same five answers on each company’s page: the rate, the deductible, the valuation basis, the appraisal rule and how a buyer gets a quote. We ranked nothing by popularity. GEICO also sells jewelry cover, but the fine print on its guide says that cover is offered by a member of the Jewelers Mutual Group and secured through GEICO Insurance Agency, so we treat it as the same underwriter rather than a fifth option. Progressive, State Farm and Allstate stay in our guide, read on 22 October 2026, and were not reopened for this comparison.
Jewelers Mutual
Jewelers Mutual’s cost page says its coverage costs 1% to 2% of the retail replacement value of the jewelry. It adds that where a ring lands in that band depends on the company’s historical losses for the wearer’s residential location, so an address can move the quote more than the ring does.
What the Page Says About Deductibles and Discounts
The page states that the higher the deductible, the lower the total annual premium, and that Jewelers Mutual has a zero deductible option, “which not all insurers offer”. It lists four discounts for policyholders: security system, vault, Gemprint and valued policyholder. For a ring that lives in a safe at night, ask whether the vault discount applies and what it takes off.
What It Does Not Say
The page says the company covers “situations like loss, theft, damage and even disappearances”. It does not state how a claim is valued, whether an appraisal is required or how old it can be, or whether lab-grown stones are treated differently. It is also an older page, dated 8 June 2022 and modified in October 2025, so confirm the percentage against a current quote.
BriteCo
BriteCo’s blog post, published 3 April 2026, says ring insurance costs 0.5% to 1.5% of the ring’s total value per year. That is the lowest percentage band any of these four publishes. The same post then says a 10,000 dollar ring pays $50 to $500 a year, and the top of that range does not match its own percentage, so treat the band with care until you hold a quote. Its home page, read on 30 October 2026, prints one worked example: 6.06 dollars per month for a 5,500 dollar engagement ring in Phoenix, Arizona, subject to underwriting review. By our arithmetic that is 72.72 dollars a year, about 1.3% of the ring’s value. That is one quoted example in one city, not a rate card.
Deductible and the 125% Figure
BriteCo’s home page says “Up to 125% of replacement value coverage with no deductible”, and the blog post explains the 125%: if replacement costs more than the insured value, BriteCo goes up to 25% additional. The blog’s example is a 10,000 dollar insured value and an 11,000 dollar replacement cost. That matters in a year when metal or stone prices rise between your appraisal and your claim.
Perils, Exclusions and Appraisal
The blog says most jewelry insurers cover accidental damage, mysterious disappearance and theft, and that BriteCo offers its cover worldwide. It says jewelry insurance typically does not cover routine maintenance, cleaning or intentional damage. On valuation it says the appraisal partly determines the rate, and that you can use your own jeweler or BriteCo’s online appraisal. The home page says there is no maximum insured value and that BriteCo Inc. is a licensed insurance agency in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. We did not see the underwriting insurer named in the parts we read, so ask who actually pays the claim. Neither page mentions lab-grown stones.
Chubb
Chubb’s US jewelry and watch page is the only one of the four that says in plain words that a deductible cannot be added: “Adding a deductible is not available.” The page answers the question with a flat no, and shows no effective date for the terms.
Valuation and Newly Bought Pieces
Chubb’s page says a covered loss is paid at 100% of the agreed value, and that if market value rises above the insured amount it pays the market value before the loss, up to 150% of the item’s insured value, subject to the policy’s maximum. It says appraisals are required only for individual pieces valued at 100,000 dollars or more; below that, a detailed description and estimated value are needed. If you already have itemized jewelry on a Chubb policy, newly acquired pieces are covered for up to 90 days at 25% of the itemized coverage. That helps a couple buying a wedding band after the ring.
What Chubb Publishes Elsewhere
Chubb’s article on whether to insure an engagement ring lists loss including mysterious disappearance, theft at home or away, accidental damage including chipped or lost stones and damage to the setting, and worldwide cover. It notes that a homeowners sublimit is often far below a ring’s value. It gives no price or percentage, and it does not mention lab-grown stones. You can request a quote online or through an independent agent, so a price needs a quote.
A Rider or Scheduled Add-On to Your Home Policy
The fourth route is not a separate company but a change to a policy you may already hold. Lemonade’s jewelry page, last updated 13 July 2026, says a standard renters policy covers jewelry theft up to 1,500 dollars. Its Extra Coverage add-on covers the full replacement value of a scheduled piece without a deductible and adds accidental damage and mysterious disappearance. An item must be worth more than 350 dollars to be scheduled. Lemonade’s own chart sets the two side by side:
| Peril | Standard Lemonade policy | Lemonade Extra Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| Theft from your home | Yes | Yes |
| Theft outside your home | Yes | Yes |
| Accidental damage | No | Yes |
| Mysterious loss | No | Yes |
What Lemonade Asks For
A receipt is enough for jewelry owned under five years. Older pieces, or pieces with no receipt, need an appraisal that is under five years old, written in English and completed in person. The appraisal must list the item’s value and description, the date, and the appraiser’s name, signature and contact details. Lemonade says its average cost to schedule jewelry is 9.46 dollars per month, on an average scheduled value of 9,037 dollars. Its page does not publish a percentage rate and does not mention lab-grown stones.
Why Other Insurers Say the Same Thing About Limits
Lemonade is one example. GEICO’s guide says most homeowners and renters policies have jewelry sub-limits that will not fully protect high-value rings, and Chubb’s article says a sublimit is often far below a ring’s value. Your own declarations page carries your limit. If you rent with another company or own a home, the add-on may exist under a different name, such as a floater or endorsement, and that company’s agent can price it.
Which Option Fits Which Buyer
We do not rank these by a score, because the right one depends on what you hold and what you fear. These are matches between a need and a published term.
You Want the Lowest Published Percentage
BriteCo’s published band is lower than the one from Jewelers Mutual. On a 10,000 dollar ring those percentages work out at $50 to $150 against $100 to $200 a year, our arithmetic and not a quote. Because the bands overlap, and because BriteCo’s own example runs higher than its percentage, get both quotes on the same appraisal value and the same deductible before you decide.
You Want No Deductible, Full Stop
Chubb says a deductible cannot be added, and BriteCo’s home page says none applies. Jewelers Mutual offers a zero option, which means a quote at zero will cost more than one at a higher deductible, since the company says a higher deductible lowers the premium. If a claim could arrive at a bad time, the price of zero is worth knowing.
The Ring Is Worth $100,000 or More
Chubb is the only one of the four that states an appraisal threshold, at 100,000 dollars, and that states what happens if the market value rises: payment of up to 150% of the insured value. For a stone of that size, read the maximum limits and how many pieces the policy lists, and put the question to an agent.
The Ring Is Under About $1,500 or You Rent
If a ring costs less than the 1,500 dollar theft sublimit on a standard Lemonade renters policy, the question is whether theft is the only risk you care about. Loss and accidental damage sit in the add-on. For rings above that, a scheduled add-on or a standalone policy is the choice, and the home policy is the lowest effort to arrange if you already have one.
What Moves the Price of a Policy
Jewelers Mutual says location and deductible choices influence the final cost, and BriteCo says its appraisal value partly determines the rate. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners, in an article dated 1 December 2018, says an item’s dollar value has the most influence on premium and deductible. For the value the percentage applies to, see what US couples spend on a ring. For the stone itself, the type of diamond changes what a replacement costs: see how lab-grown and natural diamonds compare and how IGI and GIA reports differ.
Paperwork to Hold Before You Ask for a Quote
- The sales receipt, with the stone’s weight, grade and report number if there is one.
- A grading report from a lab, and a recent appraisal if the ring is older than five years or was inherited.
- Photos of the ring from several angles, and a copy of your current policy’s special limits page.
Buying the ring in the first place is the larger cost. If you have not chosen where to buy, see our store comparison, and if you are paying over time, read how engagement ring financing works first.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Company Has the Cheapest Engagement Ring Insurance?
On the percentages each publishes, BriteCo’s yearly band sits below the one from Jewelers Mutual. No company publishes a price for your ring, and location, appraisal and deductible change the result, so the cheapest for you is the lowest comparable quote.
Is Engagement Ring Insurance Better Through a Standalone Policy or Home Insurance?
A standalone policy is a separate contract for the jewelry, and a home add-on schedules the ring inside your existing policy. The companies above differ on deductible, valuation and perils, so compare the wording, not the label. Lemonade’s page says its add-on is generally more cost-efficient than standalone cover but with less protection.
Does Engagement Ring Insurance Cover a Lost Ring?
Several policies name it. Jewelers Mutual, BriteCo and Chubb each list loss or disappearance, and Lemonade’s Extra Coverage adds it to a renters policy. Lemonade’s chart shows its standard policy does not cover mysterious loss. Check the wording of the actual policy for the exact peril.
Do I Need an Appraisal to Insure My Ring?
It depends on the company. Chubb states one is required only at 100,000 dollars or more, Lemonade accepts a receipt for jewelry under five years old, and BriteCo says you can use your own jeweler or its online appraisal. Jewelers Mutual’s page states no rule. Ask before you buy.
Is Lab-Grown Diamond Ring Insurance Different?
None of the pages we read for this comparison mention lab-grown stones, so we cannot say. Ask each company whether it insures a lab-grown center stone on the same terms and at the same rate as a natural one, and keep the reply in writing.
Can I Get a Policy Before the Proposal?
GEICO’s guide, read on 30 October 2026, says to get coverage as soon as you have the ring and not to wait until after the proposal. Whether the other companies write a policy for a ring you have not yet given depends on their terms, so say when the proposal is planned when you ask for a quote.
Sources
- Jewelers Mutual, How Much Does Engagement Ring Insurance Cost?, dated 8 June 2022, modified 8 October 2025 per the page data, read 30 October 2026.
- BriteCo, How Does Ring Insurance Work?, published 3 April 2026, read 30 October 2026.
- BriteCo, home page, read 30 October 2026.
- Chubb, Jewelry & Watch Insurance, undated, read 30 October 2026.
- Chubb, Should I Insure My Engagement Ring?, undated, read 30 October 2026.
- Lemonade, Does Renters Insurance Cover Jewelry, last updated 13 July 2026, read 30 October 2026.
- GEICO, Engagement Ring Insurance: A Complete Guide, undated, read 30 October 2026.
- NAIC, Learn How to Insure Expensive Jewelry & Gifts, dated 1 December 2018, read 30 October 2026.
